About Us / Board of Directors


Manasota BUDS is an all-volunteer organization.

Our Mission is to provide families with a neutral and supportive forum for sharing and networking, and to promote understanding and acceptance of Down syndrome.
 

Manasota BUDS was formed in May 2002 by a small group of families who wanted to network, compare notes, share stories, and support one another.  We held our first Buddy Walk in October 2002 and celebrated our 10th anniversary Buddy Walk on October 22, 2011.

For ten years we have maintained our affiliation with the National Down Syndrome Society, the National Down Syndrome Congress, and have hosted an annual Buddy Walk.  Manasota BUDS became an affiliate of the Down Syndrome Affiliates in Action group in 2011.

We actively seek strategic partnerships in the community.  Some past and current partners include Hope Haven, SMART, InStride, Dream Oaks Camp, Family Network on Disabilities of Manatee Sarasota, Florida Inclusion Network, and Special Olympics of Florida.

Our new parent kits are fully supported by area hospitals, USF Department of Genetics, and many local physicians.

We appreciate your interest in Manasota BUDS.
 


Current Board Members:


Michael G. Feduccia, CFP ®, Board President *
Vice President, Gateway Bank of Southwest Florida
Private | Wealth Services
Registered Principal / Branch Manager
Raymond James Financial Services, Inc.
mfeduccia@manasotabuds.org

Aaron (AJ) Kramer, Vice President *
Director of Business Development
Foodbuy, LLC a subsidiary of the Compass Group
akramer@manasotabuds.org
AJ and his wife, Laura, have 3 children: Allison, Russell, and Mason along with our dog Cosmo.  We love going to the beach and have fun making snow cones on a hot day.

Jim Baar, Treasurer*
jbaar@manasotabuds.org
Jim is a founding member of Manasota BUDS and has been a Board Member since its inception in 2002.  Jim and his amazing wife Mary Jo are the proud parents of Amanda, Matt and Joey.

April Moschini, Board Secretary *
Director of Resident Services Anchin Pavilion
amoschini@manasotabuds.org
Mother to two boys, one with Down syndrome.  Board member of BUDS for 5 yrs. In the past, has served as New Parent Committee Chair and served the following committees: Buddy Walk, Lending Library, and Grant Writing.  Former career in Education as a middle school teacher.

Kylee Barry *
Administrative Support Specialist
kbarry@manasotabuds.org
Kylee and husband Richard are the proud parents of daughters Sophie and Carys.  BUDS parent volunteer since 2008; BUDS board member since 2012.  Buddy Walk Committee and Raffle/Auction Coordinator.

Mary Lou Bear*
BB&T Bank
Loan Officer
mbear@manasotabuds.org
Mary Lou and her husband Jeff are the proud parents of Justin.

Paula Kester *
Accounting Manager
Arthur J. Gallagher
pkester@manasotabuds.org
Paula and her husband Sean are the proud parents of Olivia.  Paula has been a BUDS parent volunteer since 2007; Board member since 2012.  Buddy Walk Committee/Registration Coordinator.

Brooke Schulte Olivieri*
Executive Director
Title I Teacher Support Network
bolivieri@manasotabuds.org
Brooke and her husband David are the proud parents of Drew, Madison and Ella.  Brooke has been a BUDS parent volunteer since 2008, and has recently joined the board.

Caitlin West*
SMA Lieutenant Colonel
Assistant Head of School
Sarasota Military Academy
cwest@manasotabuds.org
Caitlyn and her husband Brett are the proud parents to three children, Burk, Graeme and Maeve.  Caitlin has been a BUDS member since 2010 and recently started serving BUDS as a Board Member.

Mike Lander*
mlander@manasotabuds.org

* Indicates voting member.

Get The Word Out